Magically Moisturized

Today was a special day.
For one, I did not have to work.  HEEEEYYYYYYY!  So long, non-slip shoes!
Second, I decided to go swimming.  This was extremely special for me because I am a mega-water baby, and today was the first time since August 2013 that I even donned a bathing suit.

Last week I finally saved enough money from my amazing grocery store salary to get a gym membership, and my gym has a pool!  Before last week my other option was to pay $12 to use the public pool.  That’s $12 per use.  Nope.
But I digress.  My issue with swimming in a pool, especially a gym pool, is they’re super chlorinated.  For someone like me who already has dry skin, going for a swim in a vat of skin drying chemicals makes you feel FANTASTIC!  It feels like my face has been dried into jerky and then stretched super taught over my skull.

It's Magical

Anywho, the third special thing that happened – and the point of this post – I magically discovered the magic combination to feel magically silky moisturized after swimming in a pool.

Shampoo:
The Seaweed Bath Company’s Wildly Natural Seaweed Balancing Argan Shampoo in Peppermint & Eucalyptus
Last month I wrote about The Seaweed Bath Company, featuring their specialty items, and how the company’s mission statement is to combat psoriasis and eczema.  It only makes sense if the shampoos and soaps are moisturizing enough to take care of those issues, they can definitely handle a little chlorine.  Yes ma’am, it did.  Not only did the shampoo make my hair soft like a down pillow, the P&E scent opened up my sinuses and lungs, giving me a burst of awakening energy.  With all natural shampoos (aka: no sulfates), you’re not going to get a lather, but don’t be fooled into thinking it’s not working.  Once I put it on my hair and massaged it into my scalp, I let it sit there while I washed my body.

Body Wash:
Nourish Organic’s Moisturizing Cream Organic Body Wash in Lavender Mint
I know, I know.  I’ve been very clear how much I detest lavender.  But hear me out: First, it was the last sample size pillow-pack body wash I had to throw in my gym bag.  Second, the mint blended extremely well with the shampoo’s very strong P&E scent, while the lavender toned it all down a bit so I didn’t smell like a tube of toothpaste.  The name Moisturizing Cream is not exaggerating.  At home I use the Vanilla Almond to shave my legs.  That’s how moisturizing and silky smooth it is; it’s very thick and doesn’t lather.  I might as well have bathed in straight up aloe and coconut oil, which happen to be the first two ingredients!

Rinse.

Conditioner:
Suki’s Daily Conditioner Revitalising
This is awkward.  After a quick internet search, I discovered Suki discontinued all hair care products.

welp
While that soaked in for 1-2 minutes, I washed my body again with the remaining Nourish Organic body wash to insure there was no lingering chlorine.

Rinse.  Exit shower.

Face:
Giovanni’s Detox System Purifying & Exfoliating Facial Cleansing Towelettes
This sealed the deal with the entire magically moisturizing experience.  I felt cleansed and completely chlorine free, with no lingering hints that I showered at the gym.  These towelettes are deceiving to me, because they are so soft I question if they work.  However, I look down at the towelette, which gradually discolors with use, and I look at how bright and fresh my face looks, and I know it works.  Would I use these on a daily basis in place of washing my face at home?  No.  Is this perfect to throw in your gym bag and use after you’ve been sweating out toxins or swimming in a vat of chemicals?  Yes.

Sigh.  I haven’t been able to stop touching my hair all day; it feels so soft.  Apologies this regimen cannot be repeated.  Stay tuned for my next after-swimming shower adventure when all the products I use exist.

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.