Poor, Poor Pumpkin

1ba·sic

adjective \ˈbā-sik also -zik\

: forming or relating to the most important part of something

: forming or relating to the first or easiest part of something

: not including anything extra
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/basic

An adjective used to describe any person, place, activity involving obscenely obvious behavior, dress, action.Unsophisticated.

Transparent motives.
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Basic

Ah yes.  Such a simple word, “basic,” which, within the past five years accumulated quite the negative connotation.  You want to cut a female at her core?  You call her basic.  MmHmm.  And if she’s super basic, she won’t even know you insulted her.  But this isn’t about defending feminism and freedom of choice to be as basic as you want without judgement, even though that’s what I firmly believe.  No.  I’m here to defend a helpless gourd which somehow got wrapped into this whole stigma of being basic.

I admit it.  I love the pumpkin.  I’m not sure how this seasonal gourd got such a bad rap for being so basic; it’s really not fair.  We should apologize to the pumpkin.  Pumpkin pie?  Delicious.  Pumpkin butter?  Yeah!  Pumpkin Spice Coconut Milk?  I can’t even, it’s that good.  I do draw the line at Pumpkin Spice Latte, simply because I find Starbucks to be disgusting.  I’m a coffee snob.  I own it.  You find me a solid Pumpkin Spice coffee drink made with good coffee and real pumpkin/cream/sugar, I’m game.
FB_SBPumpkinSpiceLatte_5-2See? No thank you.

Starbucks bashing, however, is not the point.  Pumpkin is the point.

Vitamin A and Beta Carotene – Pumpkin’s loaded with it.  It’s not that orange color for nothin’.
Fiber – I dare you to eat enough to have an orange pumpkin poo.  …I know it’s possible.
Potassium – Yes!
Pumpkin Seed Oil provides Omega 6 Fatty Acids, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, and prostate support.  While helping a male customer with a pumpkin seed oil supplement, I jokingly informed him it worked so well for me that now my prostate’s gone.  He wasn’t amused.

Need help?  There’s an overwhelming amount of recipes all over the internet for pumpkin soup, smoothies, you name it.  I’m here to help you get over the fear of being basic.  Being healthy is NOT basic, and pumpkin is chock loaded with health benefits only available (fresh) a few months out of the year.  Roast those seeds after carving.  Take advantage of the cooling weather to boost your health into high gear.  It’s not time to hibernate yet!

Gallery | This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poor, Poor Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Suck ‘Em Up! Pumpkin Spice Latte Edition | The Neverending Grocery Story

Comments are closed.