Suck ‘Em Up! Pumpkin Spice Latte Edition

If you read my most recent post, Poor, Poor Pumpkin, thank you.  It is very generous of you to take interest in my thoughts which escape through my fingertips.  You’re then also aware of my discontent with the lack of pumpkin and presence of artificial nonsense in Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte.  Don’t even get me started with how much that nonsense costs.  Puh-LEASE.
This set my wheels in motion to follow this quest of finding good, quality pumpkin beverages ready to pick up at your local grocery store.  Let’s start with my fav so far:

https://i2.wp.com/www.califiafarms.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/product-pumpkin-spice-latte2.jpgCalifia Farms Pumpkin Spice Latte

“The wait is over. Lighter than pie, won’t disappear at midnight, our Pumpkin Spice Latte with Almondmilk is here to delight your senses. No dairy, no soy – pure spiced pumpkin joy. Savor the season with us.”  …their words, not mine.

Ingredients: Almondmilk (Water, Almonds), Coffee (Water, Coffee Extract),  Pure Cane Sugar, Contains less than 2% of the Following: Pumpkin Puree, Coconut Cream, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Ginger, Calcium Carbonate, Sea Salt, Gellan Gum, Carrageenan, Potassium Citrate, Sunflower Lecithin, Fruit and Vegetable Juice for Color, Natural Flavors.

Ok, this stuff is AMAZING.  I mean, intensely great.  And look at those ingredients you can pronounce!  The only controversial one is carrageenan (a seaweed extract used in meat and dairy products as a thickener), which I’ve heard causes allergic reactions and possible GI issues, but I’m definitely no expert to speak on the subject.

The entire bottle is around $4.50, but I found it on sale for $3.99.  It comes chilled in the faux-Dairy section, and it’s delicious right out of the bottle, but extremely rich.  I wasn’t able to handle more than a few sips before it satisfied my sweet tooth.

If you’re wanting the hot latte experience, this worked well heated.  But, like all milk, you have to watch it to make sure it doesn’t scorch.  Still, heat it up and top with a dollop of whip cream and you are set.

What it honestly became is my coffee creamer.  I put a little swig of this biz in my coffee, and I was golden.  Flavored coffee IN my coffee?  I was the most happy, caffeinated grocery worker this side of the Great Lakes.  I also used it as the milk substitute to make waffles – twice.  Pumpkin Spice Latte Waffles made in my own kitchen.

Will I be buying another jug of this before the season ends?  YES.

Gallery | This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Suck ‘Em Up! Pumpkin Spice Latte Edition

  1. Pingback: Suck ‘Em Up! Pumpkin Spice Coconut Milk | The Neverending Grocery Story

  2. Pingback: Continuing the Pumpkin Spice Quest | The Neverending Grocery Story

Comments are closed.