Continuing the Pumpkin Spice Quest

My quest to try as many [healthier] pumpkin spice beverages continues, as there seems to be a neverending supply available.  Due to the amount of time which passed since my last post, I managed to try a good number of products.  Trust me, I attempted to write a thoughtful, witty post two weeks ago about said products, but then it magically deleted itself while I was editing…needless to say, we needed a little space after that.

Taking this little step back from my humble blog has given me a wider scope from reviewing specific products, and made me thoughtful of the pumpkin spice empire.  First, I realized that I never clearly defined what “healthy” means to me.  I declared this quest to find “healthier” pumpkin spice options, healthier than Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte, which isn’t difficult, but what exactly is “healthy?”

For this mission, absolutely no artificial colors, flavors, or sweeteners allowed!  I want the real deal!  Then I ventured to the world of Pinterest, experimenting with pumpkin smoothies, and I was SHOCKED when one smoothie I made had 28 grams of sugar per serving.  28.  Twenty EIIIIIIIGHT.  And a serving was 1 cup. EIIIIIIIIGHT ounces.  Are you kidding me?  That’s the last thing you want to drink before or after a workout.  And even if you’re not working out, isn’t the whole point of a smoothie to boost nutrition?  (Yes, it WAS absolutely delicious…)

So then my health quest shifted to also be lower in sugar, or use a low[er] glycemic sweetener.

Also, upon further inspection of nutrition labels, many “pumpkin spice” products do not have any actual pumpkin vegetation, only the pumpkin spice, or pumpkin pie spice, which is typically a blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger.  Now that is just rude and misleading, because speaking on behalf of the general population, we justify splurging on a pumpkin spice latte because it’s “healthier – a serving of vegetables.”  Right.

So get ready, because this girl’s got her critical taste buds on, and she’s ready to rip the Pumpkin Spice Empire to shreds! …I’m pretty sure I’ve already gained a whole 3 pounds from my research.

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Daily Musings, FOOD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.