Smells Like Real Purity

Real PurityA few months ago, I found a smattering of Real Purity body care products on my work desk, in hopes my coworkers and I would try and love them.  This post is slightly unconventional since we don’t carry this line at my grocery store, and I’m not sure which (if any) Chicago stores carry them either.  However, I felt compelled to share the love, because I am filled with obsessed, CW-angsty love for this line.

After divvying up the basket of products, I ended up taking home the deodorant, hand lotion, eye make-up remover, and mascara.

https://i1.wp.com/www.realpurity.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/small_image/135x/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/r/o/rollondeo-front.jpgRoll-On Natural Deodorant

First, let me discuss the deo for the B.O.  For those of you looking for a good, natural deo without aluminum, you found it.  I love it because there is a slight, “fresh” fragrance, and it does minimize my sweating.  It is hard to find the perfect natural deodorant because it’s all about your body chemistry: your odor and how much you sweat.  To get you up close and personal with my pits, I’m not a heavy sweater.  I’m a cardigan.
https://i2.wp.com/www.reactiongifs.com/r/daduntsh.gif
Sorry.  I don’t sweat a huge amount, except when wearing the unforgiving professional button-down shirt.  Even with Dr. Hauschka’s Fresh/Sage Roll-on, the Jaguar of beauty products, sweat marks were visible.  Not with Real Purity!  It passed the button-down shirt test.  Furthermore, compare $11 Real Purity with $25 Dr. Hauschka?  Hello.  Fingers crossed it continues to work during the warmer months.

Velvet Glove Hand Cream

Velvet Glove Hand Cream

Meh.  This was ok.  It felt more like a lotion to me than a cream, and with water being the first ingredient, I’m not surprised.  My two favorite hand creams are Weleda Sea Buckthorn Natural Hand Cream and Dr. Hauschka Hydrating Hand Cream, and I will automatically compare all other hand creams to those two.  Pass

PsycheEye Make-Up RemoverEye Make-Up Remover

Now this feels velvety soft, like angel wings on my eyelids.  Is it the cleanest, most natural eye make-up remover I’ve ever used?  No.  But it is clean enough to be considered “natural,” with the two questionable ingredients being Trihydroxystearin, a moisturizing compound made from glycerin and essential fatty acids, and Xylityl Sesquicaprylate, a surfactant and preservative derived from xylitol.

By now the majority knows the rule, “If you can’t pronounce it, don’t put it in your body.”  This is not necessarily the case regarding beauty products due to European high standards and laws.  In order to meet ISO standards and sell beauty care in Europe, products must list all ingredients in their full, Latin names to know the specific type/derivative.  Unfortunately, the average American consumer doesn’t speak Latin, nor understand Latin roots/root-words, and might walk away from a product if they don’t realize that Prunus Armeniaca is actually Apricot.  So “if you can’t pronounce it…” …it might be in Latin.

Explain Like I'm FiveThis Eye Make-Up Remover really gets the job done, removing all make-up with little effort.  I love how oily it is; it glides on and is wonderfully moisturizing.

Black MascaraBlack Mascara

I’m shocked at how great this mascara is.  Take a look at these ingredients: Purified Water, Beeswax, Glycerin, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candellila) Wax, Cellulose, Salvia Lavandulaefolia (Sage) Extract, Ivy Extract, Pycnogenol, Iron Oxides.  That’s it!  And you can order it off the Real Purity website for $15, which is a nice price break from many other natural mascaras which range $22-$30.  I noticed I didn’t get the under-eye Racoon look, which I tend to get after a few hours of wearing mascara.  Also, it spread evenly to my lashes and really “gripped” on, adding fullness.  I have the Black, but their mascara also comes in Violet, Navy, Black & Brown, Sable Brown, Clear, and Emerald Green.

I assumed, based on the simple label and having never heard of Real Purity, that Real Purity was a brand-new start-up company, just trying to get their foot in the door.  Not the case!  Real Purity was founded in 1986 by Virginia Easterling in Jackson, Michigan, and continues to be a family operated business in Evansville, Indiana.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.