No Prob!(iotic)

Seat belts, everyone!  You’re about to take a ride through my intestines.  I walked you through the process yesterday of picking out a probiotic, and, as promised, here’s a review of ones I’ve used.

Florajen 3 Multiculture Probiotic Capsules 30

Florajen 3

This is an excellent, great quality product.  This is the first probiotic supplement I ever tried, and I highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for a good starting point.  Florajen 3 has 15 billion counts of only three culture strains.
At a glance:
– Capsule
– One a day
– Refrigerated
– Take on empty stomach
I felt a positive difference within the first week; however, that whole “empty stomach” thing is rough – for meFor my ladies needing a probiotic for your ladybits, Florajen is formulated for you.  It’s twenty counts of only one acidophilus strain.

Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula -- 90 Caplets

Garden of Life Primal Defense

You can find a lot of literature on this product, because of the unique formula.  Garden of Life in general is a company which provides food-based vitamins and supplements, even catering to the raw diet (Vitamin Code).  This probiotic is no different, with cultures coming from the soil, which would naturally be present in food.  Primal Defense includes 12 culture strains, with each tablet containing about 2 billion counts.
At a glance:
– Tablet (They call it a “caplet.”)
– 3 times/day
– Not refrigerated
– Take on empty stomach
It took me a while to figure out why this probiotic wasn’t working for me.  Unlike most probies, Primal Defense does not advertise how many culture counts are present.  When I found out, my jaw dropped.  With the recommendation to take three times a day on an empty stomach, I was only taking one in the morning and forgetting the rest of the day.  I was only getting 2 billion probiotics!  No bueno.

Garden of Life Colon Care

This is my jam!  This one’s my bud.  I cannot speak more highly of how this little guy made a huge difference in my guts.  What is neat about Colon Care is while there are 50 billion counts of 33 culture strains, it is especially high in bifido, which is most beneficial for the intestines.  Also, this isn’t just a probiotic, it’s a blend of 17 digestive enzymes – good stuff to put your colon at ease.  Because of the price, I don’t take this all the time, just when I am feeling out of whack, and this helps me get back on track.  (See what I did there?)
At a glance:
– Capsule
– One a day
– Take with or without food
– Refrigerate

Jarro-Dophilus EPS

Jarrow Formulas Jarro-Dophilus EPS

This little guy is my work buddy.  I keep this little packet in my apron pocket for those mornings when I wake up late and run out the door.  With 5 billion counts of 8 probiotic strains, you can take this up to four times a day.  Usually on days I take this, I will take one in the morning and then drink a kombucha or have some kim chee during my afternoon snack.  I don’t like that feeling of constantly popping pills, and I do believe we should get as many nutrients as possible from food.
At a glance:
– Capsule
– 1 – 4 times/day
– Take on empty stomach
– Shelf stable

Ultimate Flora RTS Critical Care Probiotic 50 BillionRenew Life Ultimate Flora RTS Critical Care

Ohhh yeah.
At a glance:
– One a day
– Capsule
– Take with or without food
– Shelf stable

With 50 billion counts of 12 probiotic strains, what is not to love?  Earlier this year when I was put on anti-biotics, and I really was feeling sick to my stomach, I took my GOL Colon Care in the morning, and I took this puppy at night.  (Of course, talk to your doctor for any sort of regimen.)  This is a dream product for any person like myself who is constantly on the go.  You can keep it in your gym locker or desk drawer, and you don’t have to plan your eating around taking it.  If you don’t experience chronic GI issues, Renew Life offers this convenience with 15 billion counts in a light blue box, and also a women’s formula with 15 billion counts in a pink box.  (Seeee?)

Gallery | This entry was posted in Reviews, Supplements and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Prob!(iotic)

  1. Pingback: Digestion Besties Part I: Probiotics | The Neverending Grocery Story

Comments are closed.